ECA Best Community & Social Responsibility Programme Award 2018

12 June 2018

ECA Best Community & Social Responsibility Programme Award 2018

On the 10th of September, the 2018 edition of the ECA Awards ceremony takes place in Split, Croatia. ECA member clubs have been invited to apply for the ECA Best Community & Social Responsibility Programme Award 2018. Submission deadline is planned for Friday 13th of July. 

The ECA Awards were first introduced in 2010 with the aim of rewarding outstanding club performances, encouraging best practice and highlighting successful club management. The winners of the ECA Awards are announced every year at the occasion of the September ECA General Assembly. As in the past, the ECA CSR Award 2018 is awarded to an ECA Member Club with a club-driven project (a project initiated by the club, not a third party project in which the club participated), which:

  • aims at supporting/helping the local community by facing/tackling specific regional problems/issues
  • is clearly more a project than an event, showing continuity and sustainability
  • leads to positive results benefiting the local community where the club has its roots
  • can serve as best practice for all ECA Member Clubs

Recognition for Aberdeen FC

Last year’s winner was EFDN member Aberdeen FC, as ECA recognised the incredible work the Scottish club delivers with its ‘Dementia Friendly Wellbeing’ programme. The project supports those affected by dementia by significantly increasing the quality and quantity of dementia friendly activity sessions on offer in the North East of Scotland. Learn more about past winners of the ECA CSR Award.

Awards procedure

All ECA Member Clubs have been invited to apply for the award. Each club may only submit one CSR project. The ECA Administration will assess all applications and submit a shortlist to the independent ECA CSR Award Jury 2018 to decide on the final winner. The Jury consists of Peter Gilliéron (UEFA ExCo Member & Chairman of the UEFA Fair Play & Social Responsibility Committee), Duncan Fraser (Aberdeen FC, Winner of the ECA CSR Award 2017) and Hubert Rovers, CEO of EFDN.

The winner of the ECA CSR Award 2018 will be announced during the ECA Awards ceremony on 10th September 2018 in Split.

Deadline for submission is Friday, 13th July 2018 and applications should be sent by email to the ECA (


OL Fondation – Sport dans la Ville

A major player in France in the field of social insertion, Sport dans la Ville has used sport ...

OL Fondation – Ma Chance, Moi Aussi

Winner of the call for fan initiative projects organised for the 10th anniversary of the OL Foundation, Ma ...